Recent UD Scholarship and Fellowship Recipients 



2015 Fulbright Teaching Assistantship

Anthony Kersting, UD senior physics major with a  German concentration, has been awarded a Fulbright Teaching Assistantship for the academic year 2015-16.  Anthony has completed research in observational astronomy where he investigated dwarf nova ASASSN-14cv.  He is also a member of lyric theater and Collegium Cantorum. 




Anthony Kersting 




 Will Chavey


2015 Rhodes Finalist

UD Senior Will Chavey is an Economics and Finance major with a concentration in Applied Mathematics. Will was a 2015 Rhodes Scholar Finalist in the Houston Region. To make it to the Finalist stage is quite an accomplishment, since the Rhodes Scholarship is a highly competitive award. As a UD undergraduate Will had an internship at Goldman Sachs, served in House Speaker Boehner's office, helped start the University of Dallas Investment Club and the Alexander Hamilton Society, and he was President of Student Government, in addition to many other accomplishments, service, and intellectual achievements.  

2014 DOE Undergraduate Nuclear Energy Scholarship

Junior Chemistry major Aaron French was awarded a Department of Energy Undergraduate Nuclear Energy Scholarship. These $5000 scholarships are awarded to only 70 students nationwide and have been given to students at only 63 other universities. 




Aaron French


Sebastian Scofield 

2014 Fulbright

Research Assistantship

UD Senior Biology major Sebastian Scofield was given a Fulbright Student Award for 2014-2015 to study and complete research at the University of East Anglia in England. Sebastian will pursue an MSc in Applied Ecology and Conservation working under Professor Andrew Bourke, a leading research scientist in the field.


2013 Fulbright Teaching Assistantship

Michaela Sobrak-Seaton, UD senior Philosophy major with a  German concentration, has been awarded a German Pädagogischer Austauschdienst, which is to say a Fulbright Teaching Assistantship, for the academic year 2013-14.  




Michaela Sobrak-Seaton 

Sebastian Scofield

Sebastian Scofield 

2013 Goldwater Scholar

Junior UD Biology major Sebastian Scofield is a 2013 Goldwater Scholar.  Upon leaving UD, Sebastian's plans include earning a doctorate in evolutionary ecology, and then teaching and conducting research at the university level.  He wants to continue his life-long passion for studying insects that display a high level of social organization, like ants, bees and wasps.


2012 Madison Memorial Fellowship Recipient

Jennifer Venable won a Madison Memorial Fellowship in 2012.  Jennifer is currently a Master of American Studies candidate at the University of Dallas, and she teaches AP government at Waxahachie High School.  Jennifer found the required application process to be challenging, but well worth the effort.  She particularly enjoyed the required one-month period of summer study at Georgetown University.  


Jennifer Venable

Jennifer Venable 


Anna Marie DeLaRosa

Anna Marie DeLaRosa


2011 Goldwater Scholarship and 2012 NSF Graduate Fellowship Winner 

Anna Marie DeLaRosa graduated from the University of Dallas with a B.S. in Chemistry in 2012.  Anna Marie is currently in graduate school at Texas A&M University in the research group of Dr. François P. Gabbai.  



2012 NSF Graduate Fellowship Recipient

 Monica Lacy graduated from the University of Dallas in 2010 with a B.S. in Physics.   Monica received the NSF Graduate Fellowship to conduct research in biophotonics at Vanderbilt University. 




 Monica Lacy


Will Spearman 2008

Will Spearman

2008 Fulbright Recipient

After graduating from the University of Dallas with a B.S. in Physics and a B.A. in Mathematics in May 2008, Will Spearman went to Switzerland on a Fulbright Scholarship in order to conduct research at CERN (The European Organization for Nuclear Research). Will currently is working towards a Ph.D. in High Energy Physics at Harvard University and was recently a co-author on the Higgs discovery paper.


2009 NSF Graduate Fellowship Recipient

 David Solis graduated from UD in 2008 with a B.S. in Physics and a B.A. in Mathematics.  David will receive his Ph.D. from Rice University in May 2013.  On the day he successfully defended his Ph.D. thesis, David was told he had also won the Robert Lowry Patten Award for his service to the graduate student community and for his achievements.

David Solis

 David Solis

A more complete list of UD Fulbright recipients can be found here.
Sign In
Forgot Password? ×