Faculty Directory

  Name Research Areas Contact
Chad Engelland, Ph.D. Chad Engelland, Ph.D.
Graduate Director, M.A. Program in Philosophy, Associate Professor, Philosophy Department
Mind and language, phenomenology and metaphysics, philosophical anthropology cengelland@udallas.edu
Braniff 342
972-721-5231
William Frank, Ph.D. William Frank, Ph.D.
Professor, Philosophy Department
Medieval philosophy, Duns Scotus, the philosophy of education wfrank@udallas.edu
Augustine Hall 103
972-721-5005
Philip Gonzales, Ph.D. Philip Gonzales, Ph.D.
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Philosophy Department
Philosophical Theology, 20th Century Catholic Philosophy, Metaphysics pgonzales@udallas.edu
Rome Campus
972-721-5161
Fr. James J. Lehrberger, O. Cist. Fr. James Lehrberger, O. Cist.
Associate Professor, Philosophy Department
Faith and Reason, Philosophy of Religion, Thomas Aquinas frjames@udallas.edu
Braniff 340
972-721-5386
Christopher V. Mirus, Ph.D. Christopher Mirus, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Coordinator, History & Philosophy of Science Concentration, Philosophy Department
Aristotle, philosophy of nature mirus@udallas.edu
Braniff 260
972-265-5842
Cynthia Nielsen, Ph.D. Cynthia Nielsen, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Philosophy Department
Philosophical Hermeneutics (esp. Gadamer), Philosophy of Music, Aesthetics, Social Philosophy cnielsen@udallas.edu
Braniff 326
972-721-5338
Catherine Nolan, Ph.D. Catherine Nolan, Ph.D.
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Philosophy Department
Bioethics, metaphysics, philosophy of religion cnolan2@udallas.edu
Braniff 330
972-721-5338
Joshua S. Parens, Ph.D. Joshua Parens, Ph.D.
Braniff Graduate School Dean, Professor, Institute of Philosophic Studies Director, Philosophy Ph.D. Program Director, Philosophy Department
Islamic and Jewish medieval philosophy, early modern philosophy, and political philosophy parens@udallas.edu
Braniff Graduate Building, 1st floor
972-721-5241
Jonathan J. Sanford, Ph.D. Jonathan Sanford, Ph.D.
Provost, Professor of Philosophy, Philosophy Department
Ethics, Catholic Higher Education, Ancient and Medieval Philosophy jsanford@udallas.edu
Cardinal Farrell Hall, 2nd floor
972-721-5388
Dennis L. Sepper, Ph.D. Dennis Sepper, Ph.D.
Professor, Philosophy Department; Dept. of Human Sciences Chair, Human Sciences Department
philosophy of language, philosophy since 1600, and recent French and German thought. sepper@udallas.edu
Braniff 320
972-721-5257
Lance Simmons, Ph.D. Lance Simmons, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Philosophy Department
Ethics, epistemology, and analytic philosophy simmons@udallas.edu
Braniff Graduate Building #328
972-721-5274
Matthew D. Walz, Ph.D. Matthew Walz, Ph.D.
Director, Philosophy & Letters and Pre-Theologian Programs, Department Chair, Associate Professor, Philosophy Department
Medieval philosophy, ancient philosophy, and philosophical anthropology mwalz@udallas.edu
Braniff 322
972-265-5703
Robert Wood, Ph.D. Robert Wood (Bob), Ph.D.
Professor, Philosophy Department
Aesthetics, anthropology, metaphysics rwood@udallas.edu
Braniff 344
972-721-5141