Skip to Main Content

Center for Teaching and Learning


University of Dallas Center for Teaching and Learning

Welcome to the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL). Director: Jacob Moldenhauer (Physics), Committee members: Carmen Newstreet (Education), David Upham (Politics), Sr. Elinor Gardner (Philosophy), Jennifer Bannister (Business: Accounting), Zannah Buck (Library), Michael West (English), Malcolm Kass (Economics), Mark Peterson (History), and Ana Henriquez (Student Success).

The Center for Teaching and Learning is a cross-disciplinary, faculty-led initiative to support excellence in teaching, scholarship, professional development, and convivial collegiality.  

The Center is working to develop a new program for the upcoming academic year that will, of course, include weekly lunches at noon on Wednesday, Fruits of Sabbatical, the writing group and several new initiatives. 

 This is the CTL lunch schedule for the first seven sessions.  We will be adding the rest of the semester lunch schedule as soon as we have confirmations.

Session Number 

Date (Wednesdays) noon-1pm


Faculty Presenter(s) Faculty Moderator
 1  8/31  Student Success:   Tutoring, Writing   lab, How to identify students that need help, 7 Arts of Language  Ana Henriquez, Matt Spring, and Bryan De La Cruz  Ana Henriquez   with a guest–   James Zeller
 2  9/7  Collegial Conversation: How to be an Effective Teacher, How to get a Haggerty Teaching Award, Book recommendation  Jose Espericueta, Katie Davis, Fr. Thomas, Dale Fodness, Renita Murimi, and Shannon Blatt  Jacob   Moldenhauer with a guest--Said   Bakkar
 3  9/14  Meet the Provost  Matthias Vorwerk  Jacob   Moldenhauer with a guest
 4  9/21  Rank and Tenure Q&A  J. Lee Whittington, Mark Goodwin, and Scott Crider  Jacob   Moldenhauer with a guest
5  9/28  Don’t ask what shared governance can do for you, ask what you can do for shared governance: The role of the Faculty Senate  Kyle Lemieux, Jacob-Ivan Eidt,  and Carmen Newstreet Mark Petersen
 6  10/5

 How to get a sabbatical and King/Haggar Scholar Award

 John Norris, Amy Fisher-Smith, Rob Hochberg, and David  Sweet  Jacob   Moldenhauer with a guest
 7  10/12

 UD Counseling Center and Student  Life

 Johnathan Sumpter, Sarah Baker, and Moey Brown  Ana Henriquez with a guest


 10/19 What is AAUP and why should you join?

Jose Espericueta, Dennis Sepper, Teresa Danze, Carmen Newstreet, and Paul Phillips

Jacob Moldenhauer and guest
 9  10/26 Meet Campus Ministry Fr. Joseph Paul Albin Sr. Elinor Gardner and guest
 10  11/2 E-Learning: Meeting UD Student Expectations, Post Pandemic Wendy Clayton Jacob Moldenhauer and guest
 11  11/9 How to write/get a grant or fellowship award Austin Westervelt Lutz, Theresa Guin and faculty guest Jacob Moldenhauer and guest
 12  11/16 Writing Groups: How some faculty do research during the semester Michael West Jacob Moldenhauer and guest
 13  11/23 No CTL lunch due to Thanksgiving    
 14  11/30 No CTL lunch due to imminent Exams    
 15  12/7 No CTL lunch due to imminent Exams    

Faculty Writing Group: This group meets on average every other week. “Writing” is understood broadly here: in past semesters, though many participants have been working on articles or books, some faculty have used this group to help them work on grant applications, sustain a series of research meetings, and gather equipment and staff for summer research projects. Anything that contributes to your research that requires long-range planning would qualify as “writing” here. To learn more, email Dr. Michael West at

If you have received an award or achieved an accomplishment that you would like to share with your colleagues, please email Dr. Mark Petersen at

Information on the Writing Group, Writing Retreat and the Fruits of Sabbatical coming soon. If you have any suggestions for future or current programming, please email, Dr. Jacob Moldenhauer


Jacob Moldenauer



UD Earns Top Marks in Annual College Rankings

The University of Dallas recently earned high marks of excellence from leading publications – including moving up to the #2 spot for “Best Value” among U.S. News & World Report’s "Best Colleges" in the West, as well as The Princeton Review’s Best 388 Colleges and “America’s Top Colleges” by Forbes.

+ Read More