Political Philosophy, Concentration

The general study of politics at the University of Dallas begins with political principles and examines the real political processes of modern governments. The concentration in political philosophy focuses primarily on the former, preparing students to gain a critical understanding of political thought.

Political Philosophy Requirements

The concentration consists of 6 courses (18 credits): Politics 1311 (Principles of American Politics), plus an additional 15 credit hours in politics. The 15 credit hours include 3 courses in political philosophy and 2 other politics courses chosen by the student.

Examples of courses in political philosophy include:

  • Political Regimes
  • Plato's Republic
  • Aristotle's Politics
  • Political Philosophy in the Middle Ages
  • Enlightenment
  • Modernity & Post Modernity
  • Catholic Political Thought
  • American Political Thought
  • American Founding
  • Lincoln
  • 20th-Century American Political Thought
  • Senior Seminar
  • Thucydides
  • Aristotle's Ethics
    Other politics courses with appropriate content can count as political philosophy with the approval of the chairman.