Skip to Main Content

Faculty Directory

  Name Research Areas Contact
Chad Engelland, Ph.D. Chad Engelland, Ph.D.
Professor, Philosophy Department
Mind and language, phenomenology and metaphysics, philosophical anthropology cengelland@udallas.edu
Braniff 342
972-721-5231
William Frank, Ph.D. William Frank, Ph.D.
Professor, Philosophy Department
Medieval philosophy, Duns Scotus, the philosophy of education wfrank@udallas.edu
Augustine Hall 103
972-721-5005
Sr. Elinor Gardner, O.P. Elinor Gardner, O.P.
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Philosophy Department
Ethics, Thomas Aquinas srelinor@udallas.edu
Braniff 330
972-721-5338
Angela Knobel PhD Angela Knobel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Philosophy Department
Virtue Ethics, Thomas Aquinas’s Moral Philosophy, Applied Ethics aknobel@udallas.edu
Braniff 344
972-721-5141
Fr. James J. Lehrberger, O. Cist. James Lehrberger, O. Cist.
Associate Professor, Philosophy Department
Faith and Reason, Philosophy of Religion, Thomas Aquinas frjames@udallas.edu
Braniff 340
972-721-5386
Christopher V. Mirus, Ph.D. Christopher Mirus, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Coordinator, History & Philosophy of Science Concentration, Philosophy Department
Aristotle, metaphysics, philosophy of nature, philosophy of science mirus@udallas.edu
Braniff 336
972-265-5842
Cynthia Nielsen, Ph.D. Cynthia Nielsen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Philosophy Department
Philosophical Hermeneutics (esp. Gadamer), Philosophy of Music, Aesthetics, Social Philosophy, Critical Theory (esp. Adorno) cnielsen@udallas.edu
Braniff 326
972-265-5710
Joshua S. Parens, Ph.D. Joshua Parens, Ph.D.
Dean, Braniff Graduate School of Liberal Arts, Director, Institute of Philosophic Studies, Philosophy Graduate Director, Professor of Philosophy and Politics, Philosophy Department
Islamic and Jewish medieval philosophy, early modern philosophy, and political philosophy parens@udallas.edu
Braniff Graduate Building, 1st floor
972-721-5241
Jonathan J. Sanford, Ph.D. Jonathan Sanford, Ph.D.
President, Professor of Philosophy, Philosophy Department
Ethics, Catholic Higher Education, Ancient and Medieval Philosophy president@udallas.edu
Cardinal Farrell Hall, 3rd floor
972-721-5203
Dennis L. Sepper, Ph.D. Dennis Sepper, Ph.D.
Professor, Philosophy Department; Dept. of Human Sciences Chair, Human Sciences Department
philosophy of language, philosophy since 1600, and recent French and German thought. sepper@udallas.edu
Braniff 320
972-721-5257
Lance Simmons, Ph.D. Lance Simmons, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Philosophy Department
Ethics, epistemology, and analytic philosophy simmons@udallas.edu
Braniff Graduate Building #328
972-721-5274
Matthew D. Walz, Ph.D. Matthew Walz, Ph.D.
Department Chair, Director, Philosophy & Letters and Pre-Theologian Programs, Associate Professor, Philosophy Department
Medieval philosophy, ancient philosophy, and philosophical anthropology mwalz@udallas.edu
Braniff 322
972-265-5703
Robert Wood, Ph.D. Robert Wood (Bob), Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor Emeritus (retired), Philosophy Department
Aesthetics, anthropology, metaphysics rwood@udallas.edu
 
 

Affiliated Faculty

Name Title Email
Mario Delucchi Wojtyla Fellow mdelucchi@udallas.edu
Jordan Matteoli Wojtyla Fellow jmatteoli@udallas.edu
Marcus Otte Affiliate Assistant Professor motte@udallas.edu
Daniel Steele Wojtyla Fellow dpsteele@udallas.edu
Matthew Wilde Wojtyla Fellow mwilde@udallas.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Name Title Email
Jameson Cockerell Adjunct Instructor jtcockerell@udallas.edu
Jesse Cone Adjunct Instructor jscone@udallas.edu
Josiah Duran Adjunct Instructor jduran@udallas.edu
John James Adjunct Instructor jjames@udallas.edu
John Kaisersatt Adjunct Instructor jpkaisersatt@udallas.edu
Dolan Kay Adjunct Instructor dkay@udallas.edu
Michael Vendsel, Ph.D. Adjunct Instructor mvendsel@udallas.edu