Faculty and Staff

The Classical Education Graduate Program is administered by the leadership and staff of Braniff Graduate School and draws from the strength of the Core Curriculum of the undergraduate Constantin College of Liberal Arts.

Program Faculty

 

John M. Peterson, Ph.D.

Peterson

jmpeterson@udallas.edu
Braniff 126
972-265-5839

Director, Classical Education Graduate Program

Assistant Dean, Braniff Graduate School of Liberal Arts

Affiliate Assistant Administrative Professor of Humanities

Courses:

  • Classical Pedagogy, Ancient & Modern
  • History of Liberal Arts Education
  • Teaching Great American Speeches
  • Teaching the American Tradition
  • Philosophy of Education

Shannon Valenzuela, Ph.D.

Valenzuela

svalenzuela@udallas.edu
SB Hall #113

Advisor, Classical Education Graduate Program

Assistant Director, Saint Ambrose Center

Affiliate Assistant Professor of Humanities

Courses:

  • Classical Pedagogy
  • Teaching Epic Poetry
  • Narnia & the Education of the Soul
  • Teaching Tragedy & Comedy

Joshua Kinlaw, Ph.D.

Kinlaw

jkinlaw@udallas.edu

Advisor, Classical Education Graduate Program

Affiliate Assistant Professor of Classical Education

Courses:

  • Trivium
  • History of Liberal Arts Education
  • Roman Empire & Western Culture

Eric Ellis, Ph.D.

ezdellis@gmail.com

Assistant Professor of Education and Classical Learning

Courses:

  • Trivium
  • History of Liberal Arts Education
  • Latin and Language Pedagogy
  • Tolkien as Teacher

Rabbi Mitchell Rocklin, Ph.D.

mrocklin_adj@udallas.edu

https://www.jewishclassicaleducation.org/  

 

Director, Jewish Classical Education Concentration

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Humanities

Courses:

  • Philosophy of Education
  • Classical Pedagogy, Ancient & Modern
  • Great Works of the Ancient World

 

Rome Faculty

Kathryn Davis, Ph.D.

Davis

kedavis@udallas.edu
Braniff 362
972-265-5845

Associate Professor, English

Courses:

  • Shakespeare: Liberal Learning in Taming and The Tempest

Stefan Novinski, M.F.A.

Noviski

snovins@udallas.edu
Drama 108
972-721-7018

Associate Professor, Drama

Director, Classical Education in Rome

Courses:

  • Ethos in the Classroom: A Practical Approach to Developing an Effective Teaching Presence

Scott Crider, Ph.D.

Cridercrider@udallas.edu
Augustine 108
972-721-5218

Professor, English Department

Courses:

  • Trivium
  • The Art of the Sentence

Andrew Moran, Ph.D.

Moranamoran@udallas.edu
Braniff 236
972-721-4115

Associate Professor, English Department

Founding Director, Classical Education in Rome

Courses:

  • Shakespeare, the Renaissance, and the Baroque

 

Associated Staff, Saint Ambrose Center

William Perales

Perales

wperales@udallas.edu
Anselm 211
972-721-5084

Director, Saint Ambrose Center for Catholic Liberal Education and Culture

Director, PreK-12 Curriculum & Professional Development

Expertise:

  • Catholic Education
  • K-12 Curriculum
  • Teacher Formation
  • School Transition to Classical Education
  • Parent Education
  • School Administration

Robin Johnston

Johnston

rjohnston@udallas.edu

Classical Curriculum Writing Specialist

Expertise:

  • Catholic Education
  • Classical Pedagogy
  • Middle School English and History
  • Music

Alexis Mausolf

Mausolf

amausolf@udallas.edu

Classical Curriculum Writing Specialist

Expertise:

  • Foreign Language Acquisition
  • Classical Homeschools
  • Catholic Education in K-5
  • Literature
  • Writing

 

Associated UD Faculty

Laura Eidt, Ph.D.

Eidt

lmeidt@udallas.edu
Anselm Hall 103
972-721-5212

Affiliate Assistant Professor, Modern Languages Department

Program Director, Humanities

Faculty Advisor, K-12 Classical Curriculum

Courses:

  • Teaching Classical Children's Literature
  • Great Works of the Modern World

Yoshiaka Nakazawa, Ph.D.

Nakazawa

ynakazawa@udallas.edu
Braniff 14
972-721-4110

Assistant Professor and Chair, Education and Classical Learning Department

Courses:

  • Philosophy of Education
  • History of American Education

Gregory Roper (Greg), Ph.D.

Roper

roper@udallas.edu
Braniff Graduate Building #360
972-265-5747

Associate Professor, English Department

Courses:

  • Chaucer
  • Gawain-Poet
  • Writing as Imitation
  • Argumentation

Michael West, Ph.D.

West

mwest@udallas.edu

Assistant Professor, English Department

Courses:

  • Master Teachers of the Western Tradition
  • Teaching the Novel

 

Associated External Faculty

Jose Arevalo, Ph.D.

 

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Humanities

Courses:

  • History of American Education

Joshua Avery, Ph.D.

Avery

javery@udallas.edu

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Humanities

Humane Letters Teacher & Senior Thesis Director,
North Phoenix Preparatory Academy

Courses:

  • Shakespeare on Human Nature
  • Renaissance Literature

Steven J. Bourgeois, Ph.D.

Bourgeois

sbourgeois@udallas.edu

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Leadership

Founder & CEO, Ahart Solutions

Courses:

  • Educational Leadership: Teacher Retention & Motivation

Matthew Brumit, Ph.D.

mbrumit@udallas.edu

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Humanities

Courses:

  • Writing as Imitation

Ian W. Dagg, Ph.D.

Dagg

iwdagg@udallas.edu

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Humanities

Courses:

  • Herodotus
  • Plato on Rhetoric
  • Education and the Regime
  • Great Works of the Ancient World
  • Moral & Scientific Foundations of Modernity
  • Being, Art, & Technology

Michael Ivins, Ph.D.

Ivins

mivins@scottsdaleprep.org

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Humanities

Humane Letters Teacher, Scottsdale Preparatory Academy

Courses:

  • Galileo and His Predecessors

Brian W. Polk, Ed.D.

Polk

bpolk@udallas.edu

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Humanities

Associate Professor of Science at College of the Ozarks

Courses:

  • Classical Pedagogy in the Science Classroom

Eileen Reuter, Ph.D.

ereuter@udallas.edu

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Humanities

Courses:

  • Augustine the Teacher 

D. Cole Simmons, Ph.D.

dcsimmons@udallas.edu

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Humanities

Courses:

  • American Tradition II