The Dr. Katherine Maren Sorensen Award for Excellence in the Study of the Novel

The Dr. Katherine Maren Sorensen Award for Excellence in the Study of the Novel

The Dr. Katherine Maren Sorensen Award for Excellence in the Study of the Novel

Dr. Katherine SorensenThe Katherine M. Sorensen Award for Excellence in the Study of the Novel recognizes a student in Literary Study II:  Prose Fiction, whose presentation reveals him or her to be a superior reader of the novel, exhibiting in his or her reading, writing, and delivery Katherine's characteristic virtues:  A precise intelligence and wit, a capacious imagination, and a humane learning.  The student will receive an award funded by the Katherine M. Sorensen Memorial Fund.

Katherine Sorensen began her 20 year teaching career at the University of Dallas in 1981.  She had previously taught at Yale University, where she earned her Ph.D., and at Albertus Magnus College, the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, and Carleton College.

Dr. Sorensen's field of specialization was the Victorian Period, and her dissertation was "Drama in George Eliot:  A Model for Imaginative Expression."

In addition to her teaching courses in the Literary Traditions sequence, the senior course Lit Study II:  Prose Fiction, and Victorian and British Literature, Dr. Sorensen was Chair of the English Department from 1989 - 1990, directed numerous Ph.D. and M.A. theses, and served on many committees both within and outside the university.  She published numerous articles in the Victorian Institute Journal, The Victorian Newsletter, and The Sewanee Review.  She was a founding member of the University of Dallas chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, and a King-Haggar Scholar.  She was married to S. Michael Simpson, an English Professor, and they have two children, Hannah and Stephen.

Professor Sorensen maintained a positive attitude with her diagnosis with cancer in 1997.  Speaking openly and directly to her students and colleagues about her illness, she went forward with grace and dignity.

Dr. Sorensen taught her last class, on George Eliot, in Fall 2000, and died peacefully at home in February, 2001, at the age of 49.

Past Sorensen Award Recipients

  • 2001     Anthony King
    2002     Kathleen Mahoney
    2003     Frances Maureen (Horan) Benes
    2004     Elizabeth Fischer
    2005     Rachel Elizabeth Faber
    2006     Margaret Alexis Abbott & Andrew James Junker
    2007     Robert C. Hamilton & Katherine S. Ramsay
    2008     Sarah Marie Papania
    2009     Mary Patricia Jones & Julia Anne Fahy
    2010     Sidonie P. Blanks
    2011     Teresa Marie Amador & John Carl Corrales
    2012     Kevin P. Mooney
    2013     Deandra Bari Lieberman
    2014     Vallery Laurette Bergez
    2015     Alec Eason Wallace
    2016     Anne Katherine Ryland
    2017     Victoria Christi Nelson
    2018     Catherine Clare Blume
    2019    Aspen Daniels
    2020    Madison Isabel Vielhauer
    2021    Gwendolyn F. Loop and Daniel Jesse Bishop
    2022    Mary Brinta Horan and Thomas Andrew Thompson
  • 2023    Charles Spurgin