Course Descriptions

The course offerings for the graduate politics program seek to give students a comprehensive view of the major political movements and philosophies of the Western world, from Herodotus to today.

Courses Include:

  • 6311. Thucydides
  • 6312. Plutarch/Augustine/Machiavelli
  • 6321. Lincoln
  • 6323. Constitutional Law
  • 6324. Public Policy
  • 6325. American Foreign Policy
  • 6326. The Presidency
  • 6327. Civil Rights
  • 6328. Congress
  • 6334. Social Contract Theory
  • 6335. Kant/Hegel/Marx/Nietzsche
  • 6356. American Political Thought
  • 6357. U.S. Constitution
  • 6372. Plato’s Republic
  • 6376. Aristotle’s Ethics
  • 6377-6379. Special Studies
  • 6381. Machiavelli
  • 6384. Hobbes
  • 6387. Locke
  • 6388. Rousseau
  • 6V99. Graduate Reading
  • 7351. Directed Readings and Research
  • 7370. Herodotus
  • 7371. Xenophon
  • 7374. Dialogues of Plato (to be selected by the instructor)
  • 7376. Aristotle’s Politics
  • 7380. Medieval Political Philosophy
  • 7388. American Regime
  • 7394. Nietzsche
  • 7678. Thesis Research
  • 8385. Spinoza
  • 8396. Shakespeare Seminar


UD Announces Partnership with IWP

Earlier this month, the University of Dallas announced a partnership with the Institute of World Politics (IWP). UD will be the ninth institution of higher learning to partner with IWP.

+ Read More

Teller Family Finds Friendship, Fraternity in Love of Music

Growing up in a half-Irish Catholic family in Cincinnati, the seven Teller children knew a household full of music. Lucy, Brother Jonah and Brother Simon Teller have used the love of music instilled during childhood by their family to become musicians and produce music of their own.

+ Read More

UD Engages Conservation, Behavioral Research Efforts with Dallas Zoo

A few years back, the University of Dallas began to form a relationship with the Dallas Zoo, when Assistant Professor of Biology Deanna Soper, Ph.D., and her colleague, Professor of Psychology Scott Churchill, P.h.D., began taking class trips to the zoo. And in the spirit of further collaboration, the world's leading cheetah expert and conservationist, Laurie Marker, Ph.D., founder and executive director of the Cheetah Conservation Fund (CCF) sponsored by the Dallas Zoo, will join the UD community on Thursday, Oct. 25, to give a lecture about her work rescuing the world's fastest land mammal from extinction.

+ Read More